We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We may also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners. Read more about our Privacy Policy.

I got it!

University of Craiova. Romania

13 Al.I.Cuza
200585 Craiova, Romania

The University of Craiova was founded in accordance with the Decision of the Council of Ministers 894 of 27 August 1965 (published in the Official Bulletin of the Socialist Republic of Romania, issue no. 2 of 10 September 1965). Its establishment was justified by the need for the economic and cultural development of the Oltenia region, as well as the demand for higher education in the area.

The Ministry decision stipulated that the University of Craiova would consist of: the Faculty of Mathematics, the Faculty of Chemistry, the Faculty of Philology, the Faculty of Economic Sciences, the Faculty of Electrotechnics, the Faculty of Agriculture and the Faculty of Horticulture. The decision also mentioned that the Institute of Agronomy would cease its activity and its faculties would transfer to the University of Craiova, whereas the Three-year Institute of Pedagogy would continue to function with the Faculty of History and Geography and the Faculty of Natural Sciences, as a structure which was administratively integrated to the new institution.

Under these circumstances, in September 1966, the University of Craiova is officially open with seven faculties - agronomical, technical and economic specialisations - and two pedagogical faculties

13 Al.I.Cuza

200585 Craiova


+ 40 251 411 593

Login to display


Prof Catalina Sitnikov Professor Account Admin