We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We may also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners. Read more about our Privacy Policy.

I got it!

Mr Dermot Byrne

External Expert

Professional experience

Dermot is the Head of the Internal and EU Audit Unit in the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform (DPER) in the Republic of Ireland.  He joined the Department in 1999 to set up an EU Structural Fund audit unit.  In 2011, the Unit merged with the Internal Audit function in the Department, and Dermot effectively took over leadership of the combined Unit.  The Unit is the internal audit provider to the two central finance ministries, DPER and the Ministry of Finance and is the designated Audit Authority for European Regional Development Funds in Ireland.

Up to 1999, Dermot worked in the Office of the Comptroller and Auditor General, where he managed the statutory audits of various government ministries and publicly funded bodies.  He holds an honours masters degree in public management and is a qualified accountant member of the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy (CIPFA) and a qualified internal auditor and member of the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA).  He also holds a Qualification in Internal Audit.

Dermot has regularly contributed to training programmes in many EU member states and accession countries.  He is an associate expert with the Institute of Public Administration in Dublin and with the European Institute of Public Administration in Maastricht as well as being a regular speaker at financial management seminars hosted by the European Commission.  He has also chaired the audit committees of two public sector bodies in Ireland.

Similar Speakers

Dr Karl J. Koller


Mr Marco Lopriore
Project Leader


Mr Robin Smail
External Co-Project Leader and European Structural and Cohesion Funds Expert


Mr Michael Burnett
Expert, European Public Management Unit


Mr Michael Burnett
Project leader


Mrs Moothoo Melissa
Senior Consultant


Mr Dayna J. Reum
Event Co-ordinator


Mrs Van Der Graaf Mireille
Innovation Director


Mr Phedon Nicolaides
Professor at the College of Europe in Bruges and the Maastricht University


Mr Doug Roerden
Vice President for User Experience Design Strategy


Mr John Birkenhead
Director & Actuary


Mr Fred Vacelet


Prof Peter Totterdill
External Expert EIPA Maastricht (NL)


Ms Rosemary Exton
guest speaker


Dr Theo Jans
Associate Professor, Project Leader


Dr Alina Domaradzka
Project Leader


Mr Peter Goldschmidt
Project Leader


Register for free to access the Speakers Directory

Search by policy area and keyword 3107 professional speakers from Europe and beyond